Call for Papers

DBSec is an annual international conference covering research in data and applications security and privacy. The 31st Annual IFIP WG 11.3 Working Conference on Data and Applications Security and Privacy (DBSec 2017) will be held in Philadelphia, PA, USA.

The conference seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of data protection, privacy, and applications security. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

access control knowledge discovery and privacy security and privacy in the Internet of Things
anonymity methodologies for data and application security security and privacy in location-based services
applied cryptography in data security network security security and privacy in P2P scenarios and social networks
authentication organizational security security and privacy in pervasive/ubiquitous computing
big data security privacy security and privacy policies
data and system integrity secure cloud computing security management
data protection secure distributed systems security metrics
database security secure information integration threats, vulnerabilities, and risk management
digital rights management secure Web services trust and reputation systems
identity management security and privacy in crowdsourcing trust management
intrusion detection security and privacy in IT outsourcing wireless and mobile security

Paper Submissions

Submitted papers should be at most 16 pages in the LNCS format (author instructions can be found here), excluding bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 20 pages in total. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at All submissions must be written in English, and only PDF files will be accepted (a Latex source file will be required for the final version of the accepted papers). The final version of the accepted papers must be in the format required for publications in the LNCS series. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Papers must be received by the deadline of March 16, 2017 (11:59 PM American Samoa time). A paper submitted to DBSec 2017 cannot be under review for any other conference or journal during the time it is being considered for DBSec 2017. Furthermore, after you submit to DBSec 2017, you must await our response before submitting elsewhere. If you submit your paper to another conference or journal either before/after submission of the paper to DBSec 2017, we will reject your paper without review and will notify the other conference/journal as well. This restriction applies to identical as well as to substantially similar papers.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. Accepted papers will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

Important dates

Paper Submission due: March 16, 2017 - 11:59 PM American Samoa Time
Notification to authors: April 26, 2017
Final papers due: May 5, 2017

General Chairs:

Krishna KantTemple University, USA
Peng LiuPennsylvania State University, USA

Program Chairs:

Giovanni Livraga Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sencun Zhu Pennsylvania State University, USA

Publicity Chair:

Fengjun Li The University of Kansas, USA

Program Committee

Alessandro Armando FBK and Università di Genova, Italy
Vijay Atluri Rutgers University, USA
Marina Blanton SUNY Buffalo, USA
Soon Ae Chun CUNY, USA
Frederic Cuppens Telecom Bretagne, France
Nora Cuppens-Boulahia Telecom Bretagne, France
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Josep Domingo-Ferrer Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain
Carmen Fernandez-Gago University of Malaga, Spain
Simon Foley Telecom Bretagne, France
Sara Foresti Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro Telecom SudParis, France
William Garrison University of Pittsburgh, USA
Stefanos Gritzalis University of the Aegean, Greece
Ehud Gudes Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Yuan Hong University at Albany, USA
Sushil Jajodia George Mason University, USA
Sokratis Katsikas Giovik University College, Norway
Florian Kerschbaum University of Waterloo, Canada
Yingjiu Li Singapore Management University, Singapore
Javier Lopez University of Malaga, Spain
Fabio Martinelli IIT-CNR, Italy
Catherine Meadows NRL, USA
Aziz Mohaisen SUNY Buffalo, USA
Martin Olivier University of Pretoria, South Africa
Stefano Paraboschi Universita' degli Studi di Bergamo, Italy
Gunther Pernul Universitat Regensburg, Germany
Silvio Ranise FBK Security and Trust Unit, Italy
Indrajit Ray Colorado State University, USA
Indrakshi Ray Colorado State University, USA
Pierangela Samarati Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Ravi Sandhu University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Andreas Schaad Huawei, Germany
Scott Stoller Stony Brook University, USA
Tamir Tassa The Open University of Israel, Israel
Mahesh Tripunitara University of Waterloo, Canada
Jaideep Vaidya Rutgers University, USA
Cong Wang City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Lingyu Wang Concordia University, Canada
Edgar Weippl Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Yi Yang Fontbonne University, USA
Meng Yu University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
ShengZhi Zhang Florida Institute of Technology, USA
Yuqing Zhang University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Quanyan Zhu New York University, USA